I have been measured!

In a previous post I mentioned I would most likely get my dress custom made. I am πŸ™‚ I can’t say I am a girl who planned her wedding her whole life, but it certainly has been on my mind for a couple of years now… I had done some research even before I got asked. But I did change my mind several times.

And I learnt something from a silly BBC series, Don’t tell the bride. It really doesn’t matter whether your dress is a satin A-line or a tulle ball gown, what matters is that you tie the knot with the guy you love πŸ™‚ (I still want to look pretty, though… )

Accordingly, my preference for the dress has changed slightly a few times. And I also admire dresses that I myself would never wear (not just because of the price). The first design I seriously considered was from Maggie Sottero, it is now discontinued.

I always try to check how these dresses look on real brides, because the material does crease, the shape of the skirt does not hold, the lighting effects the feel of the materials, etc, etc… these photos are so misleading sometimes.

After a massive amount of online searching, editing, reconsidering, I stuck with Sottero. I also wanted to see how these would look on me, so I popped in to a bridal salon in Edinburgh. Of course it was after having been asked! I don’t just go trying on wedding dresses πŸ™‚ Among a few others I tried these:

This latter one was actually in blue and silver… gorgeous! But way above my budget 😦

I did decide on lace, but the design will be based on a few different dresses (not shown here) and I will keep it a secret for a while, since H2B also reads this blog, and we take it very seriously that he can only see it at the altar πŸ˜‰

What I can show is the fabric sample I got from the seamstress, who is, by the way, extremely talented and I am really grateful I found her.

So, corded lace it is. Recently, I also came across a design that is made from the same (I think), so to have a better idea, see how it looks as an actual dress; it is a bit daring, but love it too! I might get it made for another special occasion πŸ™‚

You can zoom in on the details here.
The last photo for today shall be my mum’s custom wedding dress. Even though she still has this dress I can’t wear it, as I am not as slim as she was… On the other hand, I wanted to borrow her veil, but she doesn’t have that anymore… gah. Β That made me decide to make my own, but that will be another post.

Leave a Reply

